Yesterday – A Poem #Poetry

Frozen fingers fumble

with loose strings of my

tattered faded jeans

Gently rocking &

tapping 

my 

numb-ing

bare 

feet

to the rhythm of my 

broken heartbeat

My pockets have bled

with nothing left 

to line them 

but 

shattered 

dreams

Tears falling –

Stinging in the breeze 

& every time 

I look into your eyes

I can see a gentle sorrow

& my heart stumbles

Clutching to yesterday

Tomorrow is so cold.

Gently wrapping 

my memories around me

As I listen to your words 

about everything but

what we are feeling…

& I just keep rocking.

About Gretchen Leary

I am 30 years old, I live in the Boston area, and I am writing from the perspective of an individual with Asperger's Syndrome.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

