Pieces- A Poem #Poetry

Sitting silently hugging my knees
You had joined the Army;
I lived so far away, & everything had changed
Soft grey words were spoken like the calm before the storm; 
then, like loud clouds, crashing

Suddenly I was facing you; your strong arms were holding me

My heartbeat 

falling into yours 

as your hands 

told me the ending 

of the saddest love story

your fingers caressing my lower back, your lips so softly grazing my cheek

I don’t recall if the sun had set in that moment you had to leave, you drove away so quickly 

as my heart beat broke into a million unforgettable memories that you left behind; that I gathered and held close to comfort me. 

and every once in awhile, I see you smile and I pause to catch my breath & thank the heavens that – 

you are still safely woven within my heartbeat, 

as I carry on my journey.

About Gretchen Leary

I am 30 years old, I live in the Boston area, and I am writing from the perspective of an individual with Asperger's Syndrome.
This entry was posted in Music, Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pieces- A Poem #Poetry

  1. This is so sad.. a parting where the parts are still remaining.. so very well described… Just passing through to see what my favorite poets are doing today.

Leave a Reply

